Southern Thunder Sprintcars

Thought I’d chuck a few pics up just to fill the pages!!

These were from the first of  four rounds of the Southern Thunder Sprintcar Series, which was held at the Manjimup Speedway a couple of weeks ago. The next 3 rounds are at Margaret River, Collie and Bunbury.

Now I must say, speedway is good to watch, not so much to shoot, because they go round and round and round and round, ok I’ll stop, but unless some cars come together at some stage it’s rather uneventful, and if you’re like me and missed the first heat, that’s where all the stacks were!! The 30 lap feature was a clean race, with Michael Madsen (I think that’s his name) came from 14th on the grid to wn the feature.

I did manage to get chased by a sprintcar at one stage, well, he knew where he was going, I saw him out the corner of my eye and nearly shat bricks!! I think Tegan was more nervous watching from the stands.

All in all though, I got some nice sharp pics, and a cool shot of Shaun Bradford doing a wheelie after nearly losing it.

All shot with the Nikon D3, 70-200 f 2.8 and SB900 Speedlight, all at ISO400 and mostly shot at 1/200th.

Enjoy (if you’re a speedway fan)

~ by Jamie Nicolaou on December 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
