Glenoran Farm

A friend of mine who manages this farm has asked me to shoot a photo so he can give to the owner’s father as a gift for his 80th birthday. This farm is approximately 600 acres, and has 5 centre pivot sites for irrigation. Broccoli, potatoes, tomatoes, pumpkins and beef cattle are produced on the farm. He wants the image printed as a 3 part canvas.

The light looked rather nice tonight, so after doing a job in town raced out to the farm. Once again processed on the lappy, not sure about the colours, but thought I’d post it anyway. Will update it when I get back to base!!

~ by Jamie Nicolaou on January 5, 2010.

24 Responses to “Glenoran Farm”

  1. Great work Jamie. Mate your stuff gets better and better!

  2. Sweet image Jamie!

  3. Ah cheers, but I just slapped this one together pretty quick, just to see if it came up alright.
    Ordered a new I-mac David, making the change……just like Fletch will change back to Nikon!!!!!

  4. I like it champ…but then Im a sucker for a big fat lens.

  5. Which big fat lens you talking about Graham??

  6. Going by the curves in that crop, old mate either had a big night before sowing or you were using something fat and wide to make the shot. I love big fat, wide shots πŸ™‚

  7. It’s actually a 10 image stitch using a 50mm. They are the actually contours of the paddock.

  8. I had another look and can see what you are saying, it does look like it’s been shot with a wideangle.

  9. Hey another thing Graham, if you plant the rows crooked, you’ll get more plants in anyway………..

  10. I like the overall look of the image, nice lines & colour.

  11. Cheers Hodgy, I’m starting to like it!!

  12. I forgot how beautiful the place can be! I grew up in Manji too! Out near Donnelly River way, haven’t been back in years but this photo took me right back!

  13. Thanks for dropping by Jasmin. Glad the photo brought back memories.
    So out near Donnelly way? Our farm is near the Sears Road turnoff, about 8 k’s from Donnelly, I know the place pretty well!!

  14. Thats right were I lived! Donnelly Mill Rd right before the sears road turnoff, on the right heading toward Donnelly Mill! RMB 78 πŸ™‚

  15. Ah, the little drive over the creek to the house amongst the Karri trees? The drive gets flooded in winter?? Small world.

  16. Yes! And we always had to drive down tower road at the back! Yes it is a small world. We left when I was about 17, so old memories but it was such a beautiful spot πŸ™‚

  17. Yep, I know the place. So how long have you been gone??

  18. Well.. graduated in ’99, stayed for a year working in woolies πŸ™‚ then left for Perth and Uni. After I left Mum moved to Denmark so haven’t really been back to Manji much. Always thought it was a hole when I lived there and only now do I see the beauty in it! So are you on the farm on the left heading to Donnelly just before ours – kinda opposite Maggie’s? Or u further down Mitchelldean?

  19. Nah we are on Mitchelldean Rd about a K past the Sears Rd turnoff on the right. Small small world.

  20. Very very small world! You have some very nice shots up on here. Nice to see some stuff other than waterfalls and beaches too!

  21. That farm looks very familiar to me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
