Abia Ashton #22

It is with great sadness that I am bringing you this post. A great sadness that overwhelms you when a young life with so much potential is lost. I am talking about Abia Ashton, one of the states best young motorcross talents.

Abia had an accident while racing at the Karratha MX track on Sunday. He was then airlifted to RPH in a critical condition and admitted into ICU. Unfortunately due to his injuries, his family had to make the heartbreaking decision to turn off his life support unit, which they did at 22.22 last night. The significance of the numbers 22.22 were out of respect to his race number and his hero, Chad Reed’s number.

I personally hadn’t met Abia, but I did have the opportunity to watch him race this year during the first two rounds of the WAMX State championships. His style as described by many, was smoooth. He was great to watch, and fast.

I would just like to take this opportunity to express my sincere condolences to the Ashton family on the tragic loss of Abia, as well as all of his friends and the MX family. At 18 years of age it was a life cut way too short.

R.I.P Abia.

~ by Jamie Nicolaou on May 26, 2010.

15 Responses to “Abia Ashton #22”

  1. Very moving story Jamie and my condolences to his family. It is always so much sader when a young life with so much potential is lost.

  2. VALE

    To go doing something you love is to go in the best of company.

  3. This is so sad Jamie, 18 is way too young to be taken. My thoughts are with his Mum, Dad and family, this must be a devastating time and one that will blight their lives forever…such an incomprehensible loss.
    Your pics are more precious than ever nao Jamie, what a lovely gift for the people who love him….and no..sometimes life just isn’t fair…..

  4. well said Jamie

  5. A wonderful tribute Jamie. We were both lucky enough to see him ride at Jindong and I will never forget his silky smooth style.

    RIP Abia ‘Woobia’ Ashton

  6. Terrible news Jamie. I will let the boys at work know. Condolences to his family. They must be torn apart.

  7. Nice tribute Jamie, Sure is sad when this happens but I think Graham summed it up pretty well.

  8. […] Abia Ashton #22 May 2010 13 comments 4 […]

  9. Jamie, I love the photo of Abia and your lovely words.

    I miss him so much and as a family we are having our own shirts made up for the family.

    We would like to use your Photo on our shirts and come to some agreement for the use of your work.

    Could you please contact me via phone or email as this is very important for us, to get it right.

    Every day i miss him more , he was agood rider but an even better bloke. I am so proud and honoured to be his dad.

    Ride in Peace my son.

    Thank You so much for taking the time to put up a Tribute to my son, today has been the first day I have been able to read his Facebook. I also contacted Shannon as I thought he would know who took the shot. Beautiful, Cheers Barry, Millie, Lifu and Tawani.

Leave a Reply

 
