Unbelievable!!!

I still can’t believe it , but I’m absolutely over the moon at the moment. It is very humbling to have won the Landscape 500.

Before I go on, I must thank Christian Fletcher. With CF’s passion for the art and the way he has gone about putting this competition together, he needs to be applauded. I can’t thank him enough, but I’ve definitely got my moneys worth from his workshops!!! Thank you Christian, you’re a great ambassador for all of us.

I must thank the judges, David Hugh Evans, Nick Rains, Peter Eastway and Tom Putt. It makes me proud to know my image has been judged so highly by some amazing photographers.

I must thank all the other photographers. Without you/us, we wouldn’t have a competition. It is great to see photography alive and well. It’s also great to see everyone support Christian, especially after he received some shithouse feedback from some losers early in the piece.

I would also like to thank to thank the following for supporting Christian and the Landscape 500.  True North (Mark Stothard), Team Digital (Big Ben), Fitzgeralds, Jetstar, Epson and Gigapan.

I honestly don’t know what else to say, although I’m stoked because Tegan can now stop asking for a holiday!!!

Thank you to all.

~ by Jamie Nicolaou on November 23, 2010.

26 Responses to “Unbelievable!!!”

  1. Well said mate, you will have to give me some tips sometime. Enjoy your holiday.

  2. FANTASTIC news Jamie, mate could not have gone to a nicer bloke!

    Viva la Nikon!!

    Cheers

  3. Congratulations Jamie well done!!.Cant wait to get a look at the winning image.

  4. Very well deserved effort Jamie – onwards and upwards from here!

  5. Thank you for the nice comments guys. You had a massive holiday this year Hodgy, but I’ll take 4 days on True North.
    Viva la Nikon alright Dave!!
    It’s in the previous post Michael.
    And thanks Muzz…..I’m starting at the bottom so can only go up!!
    Cheers everyone.

  6. Hey Jamie, congratulations Buddy! Every one of your landscape images I’ve seen are worthy of first prize in a competition, I am amazed you were able to choose just one for submission.

    Well done mate you deserve it!

  7. Yep a big well done from True North Mark mate…love that image mate and very jealous that it is not one of mine!

    You are gonna love NYE on True North let me tell ya!

  8. Great work Jamie. It’s a gold after all! well done and have a ball on the trip.

  9. Congratulations! Cracking image…well done 🙂

  10. congrats Jamie, well deserved victory mate

  11. Well done mate, you’ve set the benchmark.
    Have fun on the True North.

  12. A worthy image of the first prize. Can I buy the rights from you, I could make a fortune out of that. And yes it couldn’t have gone to a nicer bloke. Youdaman.

  13. Thank you to all the lovely comments. I’m still a little overwhelmed but it’s starting to sink in.
    Christian, anything for sale at the right price!!! 😉

  14. Congratulations Jamie, that pic is a very worthy winner. You must be buzzing right now! Of course I am a little disappointed I didn’t fair better myself but I did receive a silver award for one of my pics so I didn’t come away without a burst of inspiration! It’s images like yours that inspire me to get out there and keep shooting, not just for comps like this although they’re fun but from the sheer joy of just being out there. This really comes through in your shots as well and I think that’s the most important thing. Enjoy your prize mate you deserve it! Regards, Craig

    • Craig, I don’t know what to say. I’m glad I can inspire you. I don’t shoot for comps, I just shoot for the enjoyment, and just getting out there. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to get out there as much as I’d like this year due to work commitments, but that will change at xmas when I move back to the family farm. This is the 2nd comp I’ve entered, the first being 19 years ago, and I won the night category with a lightning shot….ironic really. I will enjoy the prize, as will my other half Tegan (she’s been hounding for a holiday….) Once again thank you for the kind words, and congrats on the silver.

  15. Hey Jamie, congrats on capturing an awesome image and taking out the prize. I will be standing on the rocks in Sydney during new years so if you can swing a tender over from TN and pick me up and the mrs we will have a celebratory drink with ya !
    Enjoy Cheers Adrian

    • Hey Adrian, thanks for the nice words. Good chance we’ll probably stay a day or two either side of the trip, so maybe we’d be able to catch up. Might even catch a day at the Sydney test!! Cheers.

  16. You legend , congrats mate a great image.

  17. Congrats mate. Well deserved.

    • Hey Leigh, cheers for that. How you been anyway?? Keeping busy??

      • Jamie I have been keeping myself very busy. Work (fujifilm) has been flat out in the lead up to Christmas. My own business is having a breather for a few months while I’m out and about taking photos. I’m currently in Tassie going to attend a workshop with Christisn and Nick. I can’t wait!
        Will have to catch up for a shoot sometime when I am back in Perth.

  18. Hey a bit late,but well done mate … nice little prize to pick up , enjoy, and well done again.

    Hey just imagine what you would do if you had a Canon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
