Harding Dam Hills

Had to dig up an image for an order in Karratha, and thought I might as well post it.

This one’s going back a bit, Oz day ’08. I was heading back to Karratha from Port Hedland after a pretty massive Australia Day celebrations the night before. It was stinking hot, about 45. All I could see was this massive storm cell building all the way to Karratha. To cut a long story short, I took the chance and drove out to Harding Dam. This wicked storm front approached and within a minute of getting this shot, a massive pre – storm dust storm hit. There was shit blowing everywhere. What followed scared the shit out of me. Gale forced winds, lightning everywhere, rain…..and then it was gone, within 10 minutes.

As per usual, enough bullshit, here’s the photo. Oh, it was shot with…wait for it, Nikon D200, 12-24 f4 DX lens.

 

 

~ by Jamie Nicolaou on December 6, 2010.

15 Responses to “Harding Dam Hills”

  1. That’s a pretty handy shot mate,would have made a nice pano.

    Same style as your winning image almost.

    • That’s what I was shooting until I heard about this stitching thing. I think it was a 20 sec exposure this one, got a bit hairy there for a while too. Cheers for dropping by Merv.

  2. Gold, mate, gold!

    Nothing wrong with the D200, shot a plenty of image on mine, but now she’s gone sold it to a friend so at least I can see her from time to time!

    Cheers Jamie

  3. Nice shot mate…but if you had the 1Ds MK 3 you could have stood out in the storm and got that as well!

  4. I think this is better than your winning shot mate, but don’t tell anyone else.

  5. Awesome shot! Timed it pretty damn well to be at the front of the storm as the sun was setting! good effort!!!

  6. OK – probably some Pilbara bias – but I really LOVE this shot Jamie! Some day when I finally make the permanent move down there, would love to buy it & have it hanging in the kitchen.

  7. I jumped onto this one quick when I saw the feed on my email. I though, hey Jamies put up a new shot, but no it’s 2 years old.

    I’ve got your problem at the moment , no motivation to shoot anything !!!!

  8. Very nice indeed mate!

  9. Oh and Merv…I have some HTFU pills if you need them mate! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
